Latest News

New Releases 23.02.18.

by Adrian Walshe on Feb 23, 2018

New Releases 23.02.18.

The four studio albums ‘Low’, ‘‘Heroes’’, ‘Lodger’ and ‘Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps)’ have not been available as standalone vinyl LPs for over 25 years and this will be the first time on vinyl for Stage (2017), which has 5 additional tracks to the original 1978 double LP release including The Jean Genie and Suffragette City.

All Lps Remastered on 180g Heavyweight Vinyl

FEVER RAY - Plunge - LP €22.99 (Rabid)

One half of Swedish electronic act The Knife, Karin Dreijer returns as Fever Ray. This is her first solo album since her highly acclaimed 2009 self-titled debut.

LP edition pressed on 180g vinyl. Includes poster and digital download card.
YOSHIMIO / SUSIE IBARRA / ROBERT AIKI AUBREY LOWE - Flower of Sulphur - LP €28.99 (Thrill Jockey) A collaborative live recording of improvised music from three experimental luminaries: multi instrumentalist YoshimiO (Boredoms, OOIOO, SAICOBAB), internationally acclaimed percussionist Susie Ibarra and artist Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe (Lichens). The trio’s jaw dropping performance was recorded in December 2016 in Brooklyn, NYC. Flower of Sulphur documents a singular evening of exquisite sound and exceptional performance. Absolutely an essential album for any fans of creative innovation and improvisation.
HIEROGLYPHIC BEING - The Red Notes - 2 x LP €29.99 (Soul Jazz Records) Brand new album from Chicago artist Jamal Moss aka Hieroglyphic Being. His unique style is rooted in the sounds of the city from the acid house originators such as Frankie Knuckles and Marshall Jefferson to the jazz experimentalists of The Sun-Ra Arkestra and The Art Ensemble of Chicago. The association with Sun Ra is by no means hypothetical - Moss recorded with the Arkestra leader Marshall Allen and a host of free jazz players for the album Hieroglyphic Being & JITU Ahn-Sahm-Buhl’s ‘We Are Not The First.’ (2015) The double LP is limited to 1000 copies worldwide.
VARIOUS ARTISTS - Hexadic III - LP €22.99 (Drag City) Featuring Moon Duo, Jenks Miller, Richard Youngs, Stepehen O'Malley and more, Hexadic III is the brainchild of Six Organs Of Admittance's Ben Chasny based on his book 'The Hexadic System'. "Hexadic III’ conveys a shared mode from a wide span of performers, all of whom have used The System for a means of expression that allows them to access themselves in both new and essential ways, highlighting both commonalities and diversions in their playing - and providing in the process an album of deeply stimulating new music".
VARIOUS ARTISTS - J Jazz - Deep Modern Jazz From Japan 1969-84 - 3 x LP €29.99 (BBE) 'J Jazz' includes obscure and sought after rarities like the bass-driven power jazz of Koichi Matsukaze’s ‘Earth Mother’, the holy grail rarity of Aizawa Tohru Quartet’s ‘Dead Letter’ and the loping majesty of Takeo Moriyama’s ‘North Wind’. This collection takes the listener into deep spiritual jazz, post-modal impressionism and fierce dance-floor fusion with material from artists and composers whose names are generally only known to committed collectors of Japanese jazz. 3 x LP is compiled by Tony Higgins and Mike Peden.
LeROY HUTSON - Hutson - LP €22.99 (Acid Jazz) Deluxe reissue of Leroy Hutson classic ‘Hutson’. A high point in mid 1970s soul, produced at Curtis Mayfield's Curtom Studios in Chicago. Featuring Leroy’s signature tunes, ‘All Because Of You’, ‘Lucky Fellow’ and ‘Cool Out’.
NINA SIMONE - The Colpix Singles - LP €17.99 (Stateside) Between 1959 and 1964, she was signed to Colpix, who relinquished all creative control to her, including the choice of material. Her voice at her finest, she worked her way through jazz and blues standards like ‘The Work Song’ and ‘I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)’, folk tunes like ‘Little Liza Jane’ and ‘Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair’, her very own ‘Blackbird’ and ‘I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl’. The original edits of the Colpix Singles in mono .
JOHN LEE HOOKER - Black Night Is Falling: Live at The Rising Sun Jazz Club - LP €24.99 (Justin Time) Black Night.... finds John Lee Hooker in fine form backed by John Garcia on guitar, Steve Jones on bass and Larry "Wild Man" Martin on drums. Recorded at The Rising Sun Celebrity Jazz Club, Montreal in 1977. KREATOR - Coma Of Souls - 3 x LP €41.99 (Noise Records) Remastered Reissues on Coloured Vinyl of the German thrash metal legends albums on the Noise label. All LPs include sleeve notes from band leader Mille Petroza .
LINDSTROM - Didn't Know Better - 12" €12.99 (Smalltown Supersound) Scandinavian house artist.
FONTAINES D.C. -Boys In The Better Land - 7" €5.99 (Trigger Party Records)

EDEN - Vertigo - 2xlp 37.99 (Astralwerks)

At only twenty-one, EDEN has experienced a lot, and ‘Vertigo’ marks his debut into the world of the albums. Clocking in at 52 minutes and at thirteen tracks, it is the statement EDEN has been waiting to make. His unique blend of synth-lead electronica, string instrumentation, and emotive vocals guides the listener through the mind of an artist who left everything behind to pursue his art.

SPACEMEN 3 - Dreamweapon - 2 xLP €22.99 (Space Age Recordings) On this double LP reissue, Dreamweapon is augmented by studio sessions and rehearsal tapes from 1987 that would lead up to the recording of Spacemen 3's classic ‘Playing With Fire’ album.
INDIAN OCEAN (Arthur Russell and Peter Zummo) - School Bell / Treehouse - 12" €14.99 (Sleeping Bag) Arthur Russell at his dancefloor orientated finest featuring trombonist Peter Zummo and percussiuonist Mustafa Ahmed. Grade A.