Latest News

New Releases 16.02.18.

by Adrian Walshe on Feb 16, 2018

New Releases 16.02.18.
BELLE AND SEBASTIAN - How To Solve Our Human Problems (parts 1 - 3) - 3 x 12" boxset €39.99 (Matador) Harkening back to their 1997 release of three consecutive EPs (‘Dog On Wheels’, ‘Lazy Line Painter Jane’ and ‘3.. 6.. 9 Seconds Of Light’), Belle and Sebastian will release three new EPs under the umbrella title ‘How To Solve Our Human Problems’. The EP trilogy culminates with this compilation CD and vinyl box set containing all three EPs Just as those three early EPs are at the very heart of the Belle and Sebastian canon, so these three new releases deserve to be treated not as a stopgap but as definitive releases in their own right. ‘How To Solve Our Human Problems’ is both an era of its own and part of a long, rich history. ‘How To Solve Our Human Problems’ is, if you like, Belle and Sebastian Redux. Limited edition boxset contains the 3 EPs and and exclusive poster.
RIDE - Tomorrow's Shore - 12" EP €13.99 (Wichita)

Ride release the new ‘Tomorrow’s Shore’ via Wichita Recordings, on vinyl (with digital download code) and digital download single.

Kicking off with recent single ‘Pulsar’, the four track EP is made up of new songs ‘Keep It Surreal’, ‘Cold Water People’ and closer ‘Catch You Dreaming’. A "defiantly reflective, blissed out, yet wistful six minute zero gravity swirl". The EP was written during the sessions for the latest album 'Weather Diaries'.

EP includes download code.
SUN KIL MOON - Ghosts Of The Great Highway - 2 x LP €24.99 (Rough Trade) The long anticipated project from Mark Kozelek of Red House Painters. These songs are virtuously stoic Americana - all shimmery guitars, measured tempos, malevolent moods and wandering melodies. It includes band members from American Music Club, Black Lab and a host of other guests. The LP includes a vinyl only bonus track 'Gentle Moon (acoustic)'.
LAURIE ANDERSON and the KRONOS QUARTET - Landfall - LP €27.99, CD €12.99 (Nonesuch) Nonesuch Records releases renowned multi media artist Laurie Anderson and Kronos Quartet’s collabrative album 'Landfall'. The piece, which was inspired by Anderson’s experience of Hurricane Sandy, is the first collaboration between the iconic storyteller/musician and the groundbreaking string quartet, who perform together on the recording. Landfall juxtaposes lush electronics and strings with Anderson’s powerful descriptions of loss, from water-logged pianos to disappearing animal species to Dutch karaoke bars. Double LP includes download code.
U.S. GIRLS - In A Poem Unlimited - LP €15.99 (4AD) Meg Remy returns with the 6th U.S. Girls album. Remy’s second release for 4AD, which also includes ‘Mad As Hell’ - a clarion call for pacifism - was tracked in collaboration with Toronto-based instrumental collective The Cosmic Range and features arrangements by long-time contributors Maxmilian Turnball and Louis Percival. While U.S. Girls, denoting the plural, is no longer a misnomer, ‘In A Poem Unlimited’ may be Remy’s most individually distilled protest to date.
ANGÉLA DAVID-GUILLOU - Mouvements Organiques - LP €19.99, CD €12.99 (Village Green) Angèle David-Guillou has reworked for organ a selection of tracks from her mesmerising second album, ‘En Mouvement’. Titled ‘Mouvements Organiques’, these five pieces echo the ideas and motifs of its counterpart. Yet, where ‘En Mouvement’ is often busy with the interlocking melodies and shifting rhythms that define its character, ‘Mouvements Organiques’ pares the music down to its essential qualities. For fans of Eno's early ambient work as well as William Basinski and The Caretaker.
THE TEMPERANCE MOVEMENT - A Deeper Cut - LP €20.99 (Earache) British rock band The Temperance Movement return with their long awaited third studio album 'A Deeper Cut'. Following on from the unprecedented success of the debut album (2013) that stormed the UK Album Charts and the follow up record ‘White Bear’ which landed at #1 in the UK Rock albums chart. 'A Deeper Cut' is without doubt the band’s finest output to date. Limited edition orange vinyl LP comes housed in a gatefold sleeve.
NAPALM DEATH - Utopia Banished - LP €18.99 (Earache) Re-issue of the 1992 classic album from the UK midlands extreme metal band.
POLIÇA and s t a r g a z e - MUSIC FOR THE LONG EMERGENCY - LP €25.99, CD €12.99 (Transgressive) s t a r g a z e is an ever-evolving project, marrying modern composition with alternative attitudes and sounds. Transgressive Records started working with André de Ridder, co-founder of s t a r g a z e, on his arrangement of Terry Riley’s ‘In C Mali’ with Africa Express. POLIÇA have themselves blazed a trail across the modern musical landscape - throughout their three albums of dark, personally political pop they have distorted the conventions of production and form to create deeply affecting songs that claw into your consciousness. Restocks include: THE GLOAMING - The Gloaming - LP €19.99 (Real World) THE GLOAMING - The Gloaming 2 - LP €22.99 (Real World) VARIOUS ARTISTS - Nuggets: 1965-68 - 2 x LP €24.99 (Rhino)