TREES - Trees Boxset (50th Anniversary) - 4CD - Limited Edition [NOV 13th]


Barcode: 809236174321

Label: Earth Recvordings SKU: Catalogue ID: EARTHCD043X Format:
We have 8 copy(ies) left.
22 people are viewing this right now
TREES - Trees Boxset (50th Anniversary) - 4CD - Limited Edition [NOV 13th]

TREES - Trees Boxset (50th Anniversary) - 4CD - Limited Edition [NOV 13th]



TREES – Trees Boxset (50th Anniversary) – 4CD – Limited Edition [NOV 13th]

Please note:

This is a presale order, release date NOV 13th

All orders will be shipped on or before NOV 13th

You can also collect in store on release day

4CD – Limited Edition Boxset – Includes Bookback

Trees classic albums, beautifully packaged as a four-disc anniversary edition includes 12” book with liner notes from founder member David Costa and comedian Stewart Lee – Features two new discs of alternate mixes, early demos, BBC session tracks and 2018 live recordings in London – Includes lost demos of Polly On The Shore and Streets Of Derry. It’s now over fifty years since Trees’ formation and, although ‘Acid Folk’ has now become a sub-category in the lexicon of record dealers and music critics, and although founder member David Costa feels the original noughties reissue helped consolidate a gathering wave of curiosity, they themselves remain in the shadows. Earth’s new Trees collection brings together both albums adding shiny alternate mixes of key tracks along with a selection of radio sessions and demos, all sounding brighter and cleaner than ever before.

Trees first album, The Garden of Jane Delawney (1970) snuggles nicely into contemporary nu-folkies’ idea of the genre, and shares some of the pastoral-whimsy that characterised The Incredible String Band or Donovan, offset by some stunning interpretations of traditional material and Bias’ own songs, which were somehow part of the tradition Trees had adopted. Readings of Lady Margaret, Glasgerion and the old standard She Moved Thro’ The Fair, and the extended fade of the group’s own Road, presage the explosive instrumental duelling that would come to characterise the follow up album, On The Shore.

There’s a definite shift between the records, the second being darker and more ambivalent. Here Trees don’t tell you what to think. You’re left to formulate your own response to this odd, opaque music. The Streets of Derry session version leans into the brain vibrating drone-groove they somehow found at the traditional tune’s centre. Polly On The Shore, another traditional tune, is one of the definitive moments of English folk rock.This special expansive collector’s edition celebrates the bands 50th anniversary.



Disc One - The Garden of Jane Delawney (EARTHLP036)

A1 Nothing Special
A2 The Great Silkie
A3 The Garden Of Jane Delawney
A4 Lady Margaret
B5 Glasgerion
B6 She Moved Thro' The Fair
B7 Road
B8 Epitaph
B9 Snail's Lament

Disc Two - On The Shore (EARTHLP035)

A1 Soldiers Three
A2 Murdoch
A3 Streets Of Derry
A4 Sally Free And Easy
B5 Fool
B6 Adam's Toon
B7 Geordie
B8 While The Iron Is Hot
B9 Little Sadie
B10 Polly On The Shore

Disc Three - Fore & After (Part 1)

A1 Soldiers Three (Remix 2007)
A2 Murdoch (Remix 2007)
A3 Streets Of Derry (Remix 2007)
A4 Geordie (Remix 2007)
B5 Polly On The Shore (Remix 2007)
B6 Fool (Remix 2007)
B7 Polly On The Shore(demo 1970) Previously unreleased
B8 Streets of Derry (demo 1970) Previously unreleased

Disc Four - Fore & After (Part 2)

A1 She Moved Thro' The Fair (Demo 1969)
A2 Pretty Polly (Demo 1969)
A3 The Great Silkie (BBC 1970) Previously unreleased
A4 Soldier's Three (BBC 1970) Previously unreleased
A5 Little Black Cloud (demo 1969 )
A6 Forest Fire ( BBC 1970)
B1 She Moved Thro' The Fair (Live at Cafe Oto 2018)*
B2 Murdoch (Live at Cafe Oto 2018) *
B3 Black Widow (2007)
B4 Little Black Cloud Suite (2007)

LABEL: Earth Recvordings


BARCODE: 809236174321