THE WEDDING PRESENT - Marc Riley Sessions Vol 2 (2022 Repress) - LP - Vinyl +CD

Label: Hatch SKU: 18415 Catalogue ID: HAT019LP Format: Vinyl
We have 3 copy(ies) left.
23 people are viewing this right now
THE WEDDING PRESENT - Marc Riley Sessions Vol 2 (2022 Repress) - LP - Vinyl +CD

THE WEDDING PRESENT - Marc Riley Sessions Vol 2 (2022 Repress) - LP - Vinyl +CD



LP – Black Vinyl + CD

Few bands are so ingrained into the notion of the BBC radio session as The Wedding Present. Long time favourites of the late, great John Peel, David Gedge and his band appeared regularly on that legendary presenter’s BBC Radio 1 show and have continued their association with “Auntie” by performing many unforgettable sessions on the popular ‘Marc Riley Show’ on BBC Radio 6 Music.

Due to the popularity of these sessions, The Wedding Present, in conjunction with Hatch Records and the BBC, have joined forces to produce a trilogy of releases featuring every momentous track performed for Marc’s award-winning show over a ten-year period. Marc Riley Sessions Volume 2, includes songs taken from no less than eight of the band’s celebrated albums, including Seamonsters, the record-breaking Hit Parade releases and band’s most recent album, the critically acclaimed Going, Going. Over twelve tracks [performed across three sessions from 2012, 2013 and 2014] the undeniable song writing brilliance of David Gedge is clearly evident.

From the bounding, propulsive recklessness of Back A Bit… Stop (Valentina) to the harsh edges and sudden tempo changes of Heather (Seamonsters), The Wedding Present’s bass-driven, muscular riffs are a constant theme throughout. Gedge’s bittersweet lyrics and honest take on love are highlighted in such tracks as The Girl From The DDR (Valentina) and Little Silver (Going, Going…).

Other memorable moments include a frenzied cover of The Monkees’ Pleasant Valley Sunday and a rapturous performance of Flying Saucer [both taken from the Hit Parade series of singles] along with a rousing It’s A Gas and a heartfelt Spangle – complete with an apologetic Gedge clearing his throat mid-verse – from the Watusi album.

“The Wedding Present are tailor-made for the no-thrills demands of the venerable radio session; the urgency of live performance brings out the best in their scratchy angst.” – Uncut


A1. Back A Bit… Stop!
A2. Heather
A3. You Should Always Keep In Touch With Your Friends
A4. The Girl From The DDR
A5. Flying Saucer
A6. Two Bridges

B1. Pleasant Valley Sunday
B2. Montreal
B3. It’s A Gas
B4. Spangle
B5. Birdsnest
B6. Little Silver