PATTI SMITH GROUP - Wave - LP - 180g Vinyl

Label: Sony / We Are Vinyl,Arista/Legacy/Sony Music SKU: 15526 Catalogue ID: 88985438491 Format: Vinyl
We have 2 copy(ies) left.
22 people are viewing this right now
PATTI SMITH GROUP - Wave - LP - 180g Vinyl

PATTI SMITH GROUP - Wave - LP - 180g Vinyl



LABEL: Sony / Legacy

CAT NO: 88985438491

BARCODE: 889854384913



A1. Frederick
A2. Dancing Barefoot
A3. So You Want To Be (A Rock ‘n’ Roll Star)
A4. – Hymn
A5. – Revenge

B1. Citizen Ship
B2. Seven Ways Of Going
B3. Broken Flag
B4. Wave


LP – 180g Black Vinyl
(Includes download code.)

With the success of the hit 1978 album Easter and its single, Because The Night, most fans assumed that the Patti Smith Group would continue their successful streak for years to come. Before sessions began for the follow-up to Easter, Patti Smith met ex-MC5 guitarist Fred ‘sonic’ Smith – the pair quickly fell in love and eventually married. Soon after, Smith decided that she wanted to retire from the music biz altogether to start a family, but agreed to record one last album, 79’s Wave.

Produced by pop master Todd Rundgren, the album was more abstract than its predecessor, but another strong set of tunes were featured. the album-opening pop rocker, Frederick, is a tribute to Patti’s new love, while a pair of songs would receive greater exposure when covered by other bands – Dancing Barefoot (later performed by U2) and the bonus track Fire of Unknown Origin (covered by Blue Oyster Cult). Also featured was an uptempo rendition of the Byrd’s So You Want to be (a Rock n’ Roll Star), Citizen Ship, and the title track. Although Patti Smith would later come out of retirement, Wave was the last album to include the complete, original Patti Smith Group.

See below for tracklisting…