MF ROBOTS - Break The Wall - 3LP - Gatefold Vinyl

Label: BBE SKU: 16699 Catalogue ID: BBE646ALP Format: Vinyl
We have 1 copy(ies) left.
20 people are viewing this right now
MF ROBOTS - Break The Wall - 3LP - Gatefold Vinyl

MF ROBOTS - Break The Wall - 3LP - Gatefold Vinyl





BARCODE: 196006187996



A1. Interlude (Somewhere In South London)
A2. Change
A3. Crazy Life

B1. Gold
B2. Good People

C1. Make Me Happy
C2. Shine

D1. Brand New Day
D2. The Love It Takes
D3. Mother Funkin’ Robots

E1. You
E2. Birthdays

F1. Happy Song
F2. Make The Call

MF ROBOTS – Break The Wall

3LP – Heavyweight Black Vinyl
(Housed in a Gatefold Sleeve.)

Effortlessly dismantling the barriers between R&B, soul, funk, disco and jazz sounds, MF Robots present long player Break The Wall. Astonishing musicianship, pristine production and top-tier songwriting, Break The Wall immediately calls to mind those iconic American rhythm sections of the 70s and 80s. The music is energising, uplifting and the potent result of a highly accomplished musical partnership maturing, growing and hitting their stride together in lock-step. Jan Kincaid and Dawn Joseph met as members of one of the UK’s most successful Acid Jazz bands, which influenced Mark Ronson, D’Angelo, Jamiroquai, Erykah Badu and The Roots to name a few.

Founding the Brand New Heavies was an important chapter for Jan, but once he and vocalist and songwriting partner Dawn began working together, the chemistry was instant and irresistible. It was time to turn the page, and soon MF Robots was born. Inviting band members Alex Montaque (keys), Naz Adamson (bass), Mark Beaney (guitar), Jack Birchwood (trumpet), Ben Treacher (sax) to improvise and contribute their own ideas over song-sketches laid out by Jan and Dawn gives ‘Break The Wall’ a special sense of off-the-cuff brilliance. Even on the polished final product you can detect a collaborative, fluid and unhurried approach to production that’s all-too rare these days. There’s guest performances from bassist Gail Ann Dorsey (‘The Love It Takes’, ‘Make Me Happy’) and guitarist Cory Wong (‘Shine‘, ‘Make Me Happy‘), the former a top-flight session player who’s collaborated with Lenny Kravitz and David Bowie among others, the latter a member of the incredible Vulfpeck collective and an accomplished solo artist in his own right.

See below for tracklisting…