MARC ALMOND - Tenement Symphony (NAD 2023) - 2CD Expanded Edition [OCT 14]

Label: SFE Catalogue ID: PSFEDX108 Format: CD
We have 4 copy(ies) left.
21 people are viewing this right now
MARC ALMOND - Tenement Symphony (NAD 2023) - 2CD Expanded Edition [OCT 14]

MARC ALMOND - Tenement Symphony (NAD 2023) - 2CD Expanded Edition [OCT 14]



2CD - Limited National Album Day 2023 Expanded Edition 

National Album Day returns on October 14th 2023, and this year the theme is '90s'!

Tenement Symphony’ was an attempt, at the time, to make the definitive Marc Almond album as masterminded by Warner Music UK’s then chairman Rob Dickins. The effect of the album was meant to be like looking through the windows of different rooms in a tenement building and hearing a bouquet of narrative songs about disparate characters residing therein. It saw the first post-breakup rekindling of the songwriting partnership with Soft Cell’s Dave Ball (with The Grid’s Richard Norris) on the three techno-torch tracks ‘Meet Me In My Dream’, ‘I’ve Never Seen Your Face’ and UK hit ‘My Hand Over My Heart’. It was an album that also featured three co- writes with Marc’s long-standing collaborator and arranger Billy McGee (Marc & The Mambas, The Willing Sinners) on the emotionally charged tracks ‘Vaudeville & Burlesque’, ‘Beautiful Brutal Thing’ and ‘Champagne’. 

Complementing the 11 tracks of the original album on CD 1 are a collection of songs which were used as B-sides to the different formats of the album’s three hit singles, ‘Jacky’ (UK#17), ‘My Hand Over My Heart’ (UK#33) and ‘The Days Of Pearly Spencer’ (UK#4). Many of these ‘B-sides evidence such stellar songwriting quality that they could have easily created a double album back in the day to showcase all the contemporaneous contributing talents of Trevor Horn, The Grid, John Coxon and Billy McGee.


DISC ONE: Tenement Symphony Album & B-Sides
1. (i) Prelude
2. (ii) Jacky
3. (iii) What Is Love?
4. (iv) Trois Chansons De Bilitis – Extract
5. (v) The Days Of Pearly Spencer
6. (vi) My Hand Over My Heart
7. Meet Me In My Dream
8. Beautiful Brutal Thing
9. I’ve Never Seen Your Face
10. Vaudeville & Burlesque
11. Champagne
12. Bruises
13. Deadly Serenade
14. Deep Night (7” Mix)
15. A Love Outgrown
16. Night And No Morning
17. Money For Love (Ennio Mix)

DISC TWO: Bonus Tracks & Remixes
1. Jacky (Youth 7” Remix)
2. My Hand Over My Heart (Single Mix)
3. The Days Of Pearly Spencer (The German 7” Mix)
4. What Is Love? (7” Edit)
5. Like A Prayer
6. Jacky (Youth 12” Remix)
7. My Hand Over My Heart (Grit And Glitter Mix)
8. Dancing In A Golden Cage
9. Deep Night (12” Mix)
10. Money For Love (Fiddle Mix)
11. Jacky (Alpine Dub)
12. My Hand Over My Heart (John Coxon 12” Mix)
13. Dancing In A Golden Cage (Reflection In A Golden Eye)