MANU DIBANGO - Africadelic - LP - 180g Orange / Yellow Splatter Vinyl

Label: Soul Makossa SKU: 18005 Catalogue ID: SMV5 Format: Vinyl
We have 8 copy(ies) left.
28 people are viewing this right now
MANU DIBANGO - Africadelic - LP - 180g Orange / Yellow Splatter Vinyl

MANU DIBANGO - Africadelic - LP - 180g Orange / Yellow Splatter Vinyl



LABEL: Soul Makossa


BARCODE: 3760300316962




1. Soul Fiesta (02:11)

2. Africadelic (02:16)

3. The Panther (02:30)

4. African Battle (03:10)

5. Black Beauty (02:51)

6. African Carnival (03:18)


1. Moving Waves (04:05)

2. Afro Soul (02:45)

3. Oriental Sunset (01:49)

4. Monkey Beat (02:44)

5. Wa Wa (03:06)

6. Percussion Storm (01:55)

7. Soul Fiesta Remix (05:50)

MANU DIBANGO – Africadelic

LP – Limited Edition 180g Orange/Yellow Splatter Vinyl

After revealing his Soul Makossa to the public in 1972, Manu Dibango recorded the same year, a strange and majestic musical beast : Africadelic.

Following a request of afro-urban sounds dedicated to French TV and radio shows seeking athmospheric background music, Manu Dibango entered Mondiaphone studio, Louis Delacour’s library music label. Embracing the composing for image game, the musician recorded in crazy conditions the tracks that will become Africadelic and African Voodoo, ignoring the destiny and future success of these two wonderful albums.

Africadelic is a real groovy gem in echo to James Brown or Isaac Hayes, mixing Afro-Soul, Funk and Jazz, with an undercurrent of latin percussions throughout, shaded by a rock guitar and a soul organ, like African Battle and Africadelic, the eponym track.

The opening title, Soul Fiesta, immediatly drops a both dramatic and percussive tension before Manu Dibango starts his killer vibraphone riff. While Africadelic or African Carnaval make the most of a boiling horn section, Manu Dibango’s saxophone solos regularly give room for the polyrhythmic percussions breaks. Oriental Sunset also enjoys a thrilling flute melody along with the beautiful Dibango’s vibraphone. Monkey Beat and Wa Wa are, for their part, some proud funky soul approaches. Finally, Percussion Storm has Manu Dibango’s African Pop Group marching off into the African sunset as the maestro unleashes a final and inevitable vibraphone melody.

Listening back to this album nowadays, it is hard to believe that all these now so called pieces were written in a few days and committed to tape within the space of a week…
Speaking of which, the short (and hot !) studio recording sessions were the first memory « Papa Groove » liked to share about this album :

” It was so hot that we could barely stay more than 2 minutes in the very tiny sound recording cabin ! Each musician had to get in one after another to record his line, impossible to breathe in some other ways ! ”

This little story only enlightens once more Manu Dibango’s huge professionalism and persuit of perfectness. This true World Music pathfinder leaves us, as his legacy, this burning Groovy Grail… so Africadelicious !

See below for tracklisting…