LEONARD COHEN - Songs From A Room - LP - Vinyl

Label: Columbia/Legacy,Sony Music SKU: 23520 Catalogue ID: 88875195561 Format: Vinyl
We have 4 copy(ies) left.
23 people are viewing this right now
LEONARD COHEN - Songs From A Room - LP - Vinyl

LEONARD COHEN - Songs From A Room - LP - Vinyl



LP – Black Vinyl

Leonard Cohen’s second album from 1969 maintained the haunting strengths of its predecessor. His hypnotic, murmured voice retains its compelling power and the content on ‘Songs From a Room‘ proves equally resonant. Where another pensive singer-songwriter might warp his craft with bathos, Cohen injects his work with mature insight, using metaphor and poetic insight to enhance his craft.

Superb acoustic guitarwork weaves a path throughout the bewitching melodies, enhancing the singer’s spell, although Cohen’s self-deprecating humour is equally prevalent, particularly on the singalong ‘Tonight Will be Fine‘. ‘Songs From a Room‘ captures every facet of Cohen’s inestimable talent – it’s a magnificent collection of songs of solitude, despair and resignation.

Cohen recorded the album with producer Bob Johnston, renowned for his work with Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, the Byrds and Simon and Garfunkel) was a worthy follow-up, boasting such enduring compositions as “Bird on the Wire,” “Story of Isaac” and “A Bunch of Lonesome Heroes.”

By the time Leonard Cohen began his recording career in 1967, the iconoclastic Canadian troubadour was already well established as a poet and author. He quickly emerged as one of the era’s most original and influential singer-songwriters, building a large and legendary body of work that continues to inspire artists and listeners alike.

Much of Cohen’s reputation and mystique was established by his early work for Columbia Records, particularly the five albums he recorded between 1967 and 1974.


Side A

1. Bird on The Wire

2. Story of Isaac

3. A Bunch of Lonesome Heroes

4. The Partisan

5. Seams So Long Ago, Nancy


Side B

1. The Old Revolution

2. The Butcher

3. You Know Who I Am

4. Lady Midnight

5. Tonight Will Be Fine