LEE FIELDS & THE EXPRESSIONS - Special Night - LP - Vinyl

Label: Big Crown Records SKU: 15282 Catalogue ID: BCR104LP Format: Vinyl
We have 2 copy(ies) left.
20 people are viewing this right now
LEE FIELDS & THE EXPRESSIONS - Special Night - LP - Vinyl

LEE FIELDS & THE EXPRESSIONS - Special Night - LP - Vinyl



LABEL: Big Crown Records





1. Special Night
2. I’m Coming Home
3. Work To Do
4. Never Be Another You
5. Lover Man
6. Make The World
7. Let Him In
8. How I Like It
9. Where Is The Love?
10. Precious Love


LP – Black Vinyl
(Includes download code)

There are a few terms that get thrown around loosely, two of which are legend and retrosoul. One of these fits Lee Fields hand and glove, one of these doesn’t fit at all. Very few people in music have both earned the status of legendary and continue to solidify it. 50 years in the game and only getting better, gaining more fans, and evolving his sound on each album, Lee is in fact a Living Legend. This brings us to the misuse of the term “retro-soul” when talking about Mr. Fields. You don’t have to look far to find a younger generation emulating the essence and styles of an era the’ve only experienced through music and movies. It seems unfair to tag Lee with a term that implies imitation when he is part of the generation that actually defined the genre. Plain and simple, this is not that. “Special Night” is a masterclass in soul music past and present. Whether tackling a tune about love lost, found, or broader topics like the state of humanity, Lee has a very unique and honest perspective that is on display with each unforgettable performance. Also, The Expressions have never been sharper, they, along with Lee, have created a collection of music on Special Night which holds court with pretty much any soul music that came before it.

Produced by Leon Michels and Thomas Brenneck.

See below for tracklisting…