JOHN SCOFIELD - Uncle John's Band - 2CD [OCT 13]

Label: ECM Catalogue ID: 5572550 Format: CD
We have 2 copy(ies) left.
27 people are viewing this right now
JOHN SCOFIELD - Uncle John's Band - 2CD [OCT 13]

JOHN SCOFIELD - Uncle John's Band - 2CD [OCT 13]




Named for the Grateful Dead song that concludes this inspired double album, Uncle John's Band features masterful guitarist John Scofeld at his most freewheeling.

Wide ranging repertoire fnds his trio with Vicente Archer and Bill Stewart tackling material from Dylan's "Mr Tambourine Man" to Neil Young's "Old Man", from Leonard Bernstein's "Somewhere" to the Miles Davis Birth of the Cool classic "Budo". And jazz standards including "Stairway to the Stars" and "Ray's Idea" rub shoulders with seven Scofeld originals that are variously swing, funk and folkinfected. The red thread through the programme is the trio's tremendous improvisational verve. "I feel like we can go anywhere," says John Scofeld of the group's multidirectional versatility.

Uncle John's Band was recorded at Clubhouse Studio in Rhinebeck, New York, in August 2022.

John Scofeld: guitar

Vicente Archer: double bass

Bill Stewart: drums.


  1. Mr. Tambourine Man
  2. How Deep
  3. TV Band
  4. Back In Time
  5. Budo
  6. Nothing Is Forever
  7. Old Man
  8. The Girlfriend Chord
  9. Stairway To The Stars
  10. Mo Green
  11. Mask
  12. Somewhere
  13. Ray's Idea
  14. Uncle John's Band