JOHN PRINE - German Afternoons - LP - Vinyl

Label: Oh Boy Records SKU: 20615 Catalogue ID: OBR003LP Format: Vinyl
We have 8 copy(ies) left.
22 people are viewing this right now
JOHN PRINE - German Afternoons - LP - Vinyl

JOHN PRINE - German Afternoons - LP - Vinyl



LP - Black Vinyl

John Prine's 1986 release, German Afternoons, is available on vinyl for the first time since its original pressing. Features the studio version of Speed of the Sound Of Lonliness, perhaps his best ever song. Another straight country set, but unlike Sweet Revenge, this is a sleepy-town stroll, featuring snappy accompaniment by the New Grass Revival. After the terrific opening take on the Carter Family classic "Lulu Walls," the record glides along at a gentle tempo, yielding the clever "Let's Talk Dirty in Hawaiian" and one classic ballad, "Speed of the Sound of Loneliness," which was cut in a superb rendition by Nanci Griffith for her Other Voices, Other Rooms project. It also features "Linda Goes to Mars" and a re-recording of "Paradise" from Prine's debut.


1. Lulu Walls
2. Speed Of The Sound Of Loneliness
3. Out Of Love
4. Sailin' Around
5. If She Were You
6. Linda Goes To Mars
7. I Just Want To Dance With You
8. Love, Love, Love
9. Bad Boy
10. They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
11. Paradise