IMMANUEL WILKINS - Omega - 2LP - Vinyl

Label: Blue Note SKU: 14035 Catalogue ID: 3569310 Format:
We have 2 copy(ies) left.
24 people are viewing this right now
IMMANUEL WILKINS - Omega - 2LP - Vinyl

IMMANUEL WILKINS - Omega - 2LP - Vinyl



LABEL: Blue Note

CAT NO: 3569310

BARCODE: 0602435693101



  1. Warriors
  2. Ferguson – An American Tradition
  3. The Dreamer
  4. Mary Turner – An American Tradition
  5. Grace and Mercy
  6. Part 1. The Key
  7. Part 2. Saudade
  8. Part 3. Eulogy
  9. Part 4. Guarded Heart
  10. Omega



2LP – Black Vinyl

Alto saxophonist and composer Immanuel Wilkins delivers an expansive opus about the Black experience in America on his remarkable debut album Omega, on Blue Note Records. Omega was produced by Jason Moran and features a next-generation quartet with pianist Micah Thomas, bassist Daryl Johns, and drummer Kweku Sumbry. With powerful pieces like “Mary Turner – An American Tradition” and “Ferguson – An American Tradition,” Wilkins wanted to convey the deep pain his people have endured in this country for centuries. That message lands harder in 2020, as the world struggles through a global pandemic, and cities across America are uprising due to the killings of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, and Ahmaud Arbery, three unarmed Black people who died at the hands of whites.