IAN CARR WITH NUCLEUS - Labyrinth (2022 Reissue) - LP - Vinyl

Label: Be With Records SKU: 20627 Catalogue ID: BEWITH103LP Format: Vinyl
We have 1 copy(ies) left.
22 people are viewing this right now
IAN CARR WITH NUCLEUS - Labyrinth (2022 Reissue) - LP - Vinyl

IAN CARR WITH NUCLEUS - Labyrinth (2022 Reissue) - LP - Vinyl



LP - 140g Black Vinyl. Housed in a Gatefold Sleeve.
Remastered from the Original Master Tapes.

Labyrinth is dark, brooding, beat-heavy, melancholic mood music courtesy of Ian Carr and the Nucleus crew. A favourite of Madlib, it goes without saying that this is one magnificent record. Originally released on Vertigo in 1973, Labyrinth was never re-pressed and of course those original copies are now very tricky to score. Like all the Nucleus records, it’s aged ridiculously well and this Be With re-issue, re-mastered from the original analogue tapes, shows off just why this deserves to be back in press.

Genius trumpeter and visionary composer Ian Carr was one of the most respected British musicians of his era. He was a true pioneer and saw the potential in fusing the worlds of jazz with rock, just as Miles Davis and The Tony Williams Lifetime did in the US. In late 1969, following the demise of the Rendell-Carr quintet, and tiring of British jazz, Carr assembled the legendary Nucleus. Regarding music as a continuous process, Nucleus refused to “recognise rigid boundaries” and worked on delivering what they saw as a “total musical experience”. We can get behind that.


A1. Origins (2:57)
A2. Bull Dance (8:17)
A3. Ariadne (7:47)
A4. Arena Part I (1:49)

B1. Arena Part II (5:12)
B2. Exultation (6:02)
B3. Naxos (12:22)