HIS NAME IS ALIVE - A Silver Thread: Home Recordings 1979 - 1990 - 4CD - Boxset


Barcode: 5060384619347

Label: Disciples SKU: 858 Catalogue ID: DISC369 Format:
We have 1 copy(ies) left.
23 people are viewing this right now
HIS NAME IS ALIVE - A Silver Thread: Home Recordings 1979 - 1990 - 4CD - Boxset

HIS NAME IS ALIVE - A Silver Thread: Home Recordings 1979 - 1990 - 4CD - Boxset



LABEL: Disciples


BARCODE: 5060384619347



CD1: All The Mirrors In The House

01. Piano Rev
02. Lliadin
03. Something About Hope
04. All The Mirrors In The House
05. Because Piano
06. Rememory
07. Tape Sound
08. Guitar Rev
09. Fine As Feathers
10. Reflection Pool
11. Equally Divided
12. Tape Slow
13. Outside The Window
14. Echo Lake
15. F Choir

CD2: Return To Never

01. Return To Never
02. Lake Night
03. Morning Machine
04. Early Version
05. Piano V
06. To Remember
07. My Thoughts Are To Thee Drawn
08. Guitar Echo
09. Forever Getting Lost
10. Chords
11. From The Night Tape
12. Descending
13. Last Thing Thought Of
14. Whitesnake
15. Gone

CD3: Hope Is A Candle

01. Princess
02. Either
03. Coldless
04. Liadin
05. Disappear
06. Never
07. Pass
08. Nearby
09. Salendro
10. Porter
11. Still
12. Halo
13. Insiders

CD4: Keep The Moon On Time

01. Sun Reflection
02. Dream Piano
03. Sleep 6teen
04. Something Blood
05. 6teen Secrets
06. Entrance Protection
07. 6teen Cheers
08. Heaven In The Sun
09. Return To Never Version
10. Vision Return
11. To Remember Version
12. Early 2 Version
13. Angel Waves
14. Piano V Version
15. Slept Thru
16. In The Great Night
17. My Heart Goes Out


HIS NAME IS ALIVE – A Silver Thread: Home Recordings 1979 – 1990

4CD – Boxset, CDs in Individual Reverse Board Card Wallets with 36 Page Booklet, Housed in a Clamshell Outer Box

4 disc, 60 track anthology compiling early work by Warren Defever aka His Name Is Alive, prior to signing to 4AD. This set compiles 3 volumes previously released on vinyl, alongside a bonus disc and 36 page booklet.

For the past couple of years the Disciples label has been exploring the His Name Is Alive tape archives, charting the development of their sound over 3 roughly chronological volumes – All The Mirrors In The House, Return To Never and Hope Is A Candle (the latter LP being released alongside this boxset). The full vinyl trilogy is anthologised here, alongside a bonus disc which collects together the best tracks from a series of cassette companion volumes that Defever compiled to go alongside each LP – 6Teen OK, Return Versions and Ghost Tape EXP.

Whilst ‘official’ His Name Is Alive albums are much-loved by fans of the 4AD label in it’s crepuscular Cocteau Twins/This Mortal Coil period, these tentative tracks reveal a different kind of sound, notably losing the layer of prominent female lead vocals to reveal the shadowy instrumental moves going on underneath, with some tracks recorded when Defever was as young as 10.

With help transferring ageing cassettes and annotating the results from Shelley Salant of Tyvek, the unearthed results are revelatory – a gorgeous sequence of gently decaying tone float made with an incredibly primitive DIY set-up. Comes with a 36 page booklet containing essays on each of the vinyl LPs by Mike McGonigal (author of books on My Bloody Valentine, Galaxie 500 and noted for his publications Chemical Imbalance, Yeti and Maggot Brain), alongside beautiful photos from the Defever family album.