GERRY RAFFERTY - Rest In Blue - 2LP - Vinyl

Label: Rhino SKU: 18658 Catalogue ID: 0190296640308 Format: Vinyl
We have 8 copy(ies) left.
24 people are viewing this right now
GERRY RAFFERTY - Rest In Blue - 2LP - Vinyl

GERRY RAFFERTY - Rest In Blue - 2LP - Vinyl



2LP - 140g Black Vinyl with Etching on Side 4.

From 2006, Gerry Rafferty started work on a new album on and off, but sadly passed away in 2011. His daughter, Martha Rafferty, sought to complete a project started by father, culminating in Rest In Blue. Many of the demos left by Gerry included multiple layers of synths, which Martha stripped back to showcase his immense vocal ability. The result is an album brimming with raw emotion, and a quintessential collection of blues, rock, and folk. Some of the demos date back as far as 1970, many of which Rafferty had singled out as potential tracks for his new album.

With elements of the songs written at varying parts of Gerry’s career, the album tackles a variety of topics including, climate change on Sign Of The Times, questioning the legality of war in Lost Highway, and addressing problems with his alcoholism in the emotively honest Still In Denial. As well as many brand-new originals penned by Gerry, the album features popular traditional folk songs such as Wild Mountain Thyme and Dirty Old Town. It also features a cover of Richard and Linda Thompson’s It’s Just The Motion, an artist Gerry was a big admirer of. The album finishes with a re-record of the Stealers Wheel classic Stuck In The Middle With You recorded back in the 90s, that gives the track a fresh, country-inspired interpretation. Rest In Blue called upon many musicians that had worked closely with Gerry throughout his career.


(*Side 4 is etched)

1. Still In Denial
2. Full Moon
3. Sign Of The Times
4. You Are All I Want
5. I Still Love You
6. Wild Mountain Thyme
7. Slow Down
8. It's Just The Motion
9. Look At Me Now
10. Dirty Old Town
11. Lost Highway
12. Keeper Of My Soul
13. Precious Moments
14. Stuck In The Middle With You