DONNY BENET - Mr Experience - LP - Limited Grape Vinyl


Barcode: 9332727103131

Label: Dot Dash SKU: 11416 Catalogue ID: DASH064LPE Format:
We have 10 copy(ies) left.
27 people are viewing this right now
DONNY BENET - Mr Experience - LP - Limited Grape Vinyl

DONNY BENET - Mr Experience - LP - Limited Grape Vinyl



DONNY BENET – Mr Experience

LP – Limited Edition Grape Vinyl

After humble lo-fi beginnings in the Australian art-pop underground, Donny Benét has expanded his cult-like following across the globe with a resonant array of danceable repertoire dealing with love and affection. New album Mr Experience marks a new chapter, informed by a wealth of musical and personal development.


For Mr Experience, Donny envisioned a soundtrack to a dinner party set in the late 1980s. While his earlier recordings drew inspiration from DIY pop conspirators such as Ariel Pink and John Maus, Donny channelled the stylings of Bryan Ferry and Hiroshi Yoshimura as the impetus for new material, evident on the intimacy found on ‘Girl Of My Dreams’ and its lush production (with a soothing whistle-along chorus for good measure).

Sincerity has been a key component of Donny Benét’s output since the beginning. His songs deal with genuine emotion served on a kitsch platter. An alter-ego manifested in the beginning of the 2010s, Donny has blurred the lines of artifice to create a back catalogue that can embrace and challenge – often simultaneously – the notion of irony in art.


Mr Experience moves further away from ironic notions as Donny explores lyrical and musical themes which embody observations of maturation in his audience, his tightknit musical community, and himself. While ‘mature’ is a term that often rings hollow as an album descriptor, the term couldn’t be more apt for Mr Experience.


A1 Mr Experience
A2 Moving Up
A3 Second Dinner
A4 Reach Out
A5 Girl Of My Dreams
B1 Negroni Summer
B2 One Night In Paradise
B3 Take A Trip
B4 You Don't Need Love
B5 Waterfall (Love Scene)

LABEL: Dot Dash


BARCODE: 9332727103131