CALEXICO - Seasonal Shift -LP - Violet Vinyl

Label: City Slang SKU: 12274 Catalogue ID: 4250506837808 Format:
We have 3 copy(ies) left.
23 people are viewing this right now
CALEXICO - Seasonal Shift -LP - Violet Vinyl

CALEXICO - Seasonal Shift -LP - Violet Vinyl




A1. Hear the Bells

A2. Christmas All Over Again

A3. Mi Burrito Sabanero

A4. Heart of Downtown

A5. Seasonal Shift

A6. Nature’s Domain

B1. Happy Xmas (War is Over)

B2. Glory’s Hope

B3. Tanta Tristeza

B4. Peace of Mind

B5. Sonoran Snoball

B6. Mi Burrito Sabanero (Reprise)


CAT NO: 4250506837808


CALEXICO – Seasonal Shift

LP – Indies Exclusive 180 Violet Vinyl + Download

Contains eight new compositions and covers of John Lennon, Tom Petty and Hugo Blanco / Featuring international collaborators incl. Bombino, Gaby Moreno, Gisela João, Nick Urata (DeVotchKa) and Camilo Lara.

Calexico’s Seasonal Shift is less of a Christmas album and more of a cross cultural seasonal celebration. The themes are based around that familiar end of year feeling, of reflection, of ceremony and of recognition of the year gone by and changes it brought for better and for worse. It contains a few cover songs including classics by John Lennon and Tom Petty, a few more special guests and a whole load of good will. It’s heartfelt but fun, and earnest but celebratory. It features Calexico in an assortment of guises, referencing Portuguese Fado and Old Mexican Folk Songs, from the stripped back two-man skeleton to the full party of international collaborators including artists like Bombino, Gaby Moreno, Gisela João, Nick Urata (DeVotchKa) and Camilo Lara.

Reflecting on the album, Joey Burns says, “It’s more of a seasonal album and like all seasons they are about change and how those changes in the world resonate inside of you. I never thought this would have gone the way that it did. We were aiming to record a 6 song EP and we kept going. I guess I never thought I would be on permanent hibernation mode either, but I’m super happy and extremely grateful.”