BOBBIE GENTRY - Windows Of the World - LP - 180g Vinyl [RSD2021-JUL 17]

€24.99 €14.99
Save 40%
Label: UMC SKU: rsd g Catalogue ID: 5393478 Format:
We have 8 copy(ies) left.
20 people are viewing this right now
BOBBIE GENTRY - Windows Of the World - LP - 180g Vinyl [RSD2021-JUL 17]

BOBBIE GENTRY - Windows Of the World - LP - 180g Vinyl [RSD2021-JUL 17]

€24.99 €14.99


RELEASE DATE: July 17th, 2021
CAT NO: 5393478
BARCODE: 600753934784



Side 1:
1. Suppertime
2. God Bless The Child
3. Since I Fell For You
4. Here’s That Rainy Day
5. I Didn’t Know [demo]

Side 2:
1. Hushabye Mountain [Demo]
2. Stormy
3. Save Your Love For Me
4. This Girl’s in Love With You
5. The Windows of the World

* = Demo
** = Unreleased Alternative Version

BOBBIE GENTRY – Windows Of the World

LP – Limited Edition 180g Black Vinyl
(Only 1200 copies pressed. Features a previously unreleased version of ‘Hushabye Mountain’)


All ‘RSD Drop 2’ titles will be available for purchase in store from 8am Saturday, July 17th. Online sales for remaining stock will start at 6pm, 17th July.

Bobbie’s journey from country singer-songwriter to blue eyed soul diva stopped off at a hitherto unknown destination along the way. Before she arrived at Muscle Shoals to work her magic with the late great Rick Hall, Bobbie cut a laid back album of classic and contemporary jazz tunes that was abandoned before it had chance to see the light of day. This was a shame, as Bobbie proves herself as adept in this genre as in any other. This self-produced collection first saw the light of day on the Bobbie Gentry boxset, but this lost album deserves to have its own separate release and what better format than vinyl? The set exudes a sophisticated and intimate late-night vibe mostly featuring Bobbie alone with her guitar accompanied by a bass player; occasionally there is a whisper of strings from Jimmie Haskell who famously composed the cello and violin arrangement on Ode to Billie Joe. Gentry fans will find much to love in Bobbie’s short lived but brilliant turn as a jazz singer. The original 8 tracks to be supplemented by the ‘I Didn’t Know’ and ‘Hushabye Mountain’ demos recorded around the same time, this LP also features the previously unreleased Hushabye Mountain [alternate version].

See below for tracklisting…