BOBBIE GENTRY - The Girl From Chickasaw County (Highlights) - 2LP - Vinyl
BOBBIE GENTRY - The Girl From Chickasaw County (Highlights) - 2LP - Vinyl

BOBBIE GENTRY - The Girl From Chickasaw County (Highlights) - 2LP - Vinyl

Label: EMI SKU: 20076 Catalogue ID: 5395656 Format: Vinyl
We have 2 copy(ies) left.
27 people are viewing this right now
BOBBIE GENTRY - The Girl From Chickasaw County (Highlights) - 2LP - Vinyl

BOBBIE GENTRY - The Girl From Chickasaw County (Highlights) - 2LP - Vinyl



2LP - Limited Edition Black Vinyl (Highlights from the recently released Box Set of the same name.) With Insert. Features an exclusive illustration provided by fashion illustrator David Downton.

This is a cut down version of the Bobbie Gentry boxset and features a selection of the unreleased bonus material from the 8CD package, including an alternate take of Sunday Best, demo of Hurry, Tuesday Child, Mississippi Delta alternate version and many more. The 2LP version has a 12”12” insert with a selection of images used in the boxset and sleeve notes.

In 2018 UMC released Capitol years boxset consisted of 8CDs, this is the first ever large-scale retrospective containing the first UK reissues of her albums in their entirety – supplemented by 76 previously unreleased demos, outtakes and alternate takes from all Bobbie’s Capitol albums. Included are beautiful acoustic demos of songs like Refractions, Courtyard and Seasons Come Seasons Go, alternate takes of Sunday Best, Sweet Peony and Benjamin, and previously unheard originals like Morning to Midnight, and Joanne. In addition, Bobbie recorded some great cover versions that never saw the light of day including Conspiracy of Homer Jones by Dallas Frazier, Spinning Wheel by Blood Sweat and Tears, Salome Smith and her amazing dancing bear by Randy Newman, and blues songs like Seventh Son by Willie Dixon.

One of the selling points of the set is a previously unreleased album of jazz cover versions including intimate mostly acoustic interpretations of songs including Irving Berlin’s Suppertime, Billie Holiday's God Bless the Child (play from start) and Since I Fell for You by Buddy Johnson. This change of direction was abandoned in favour of the blue-eyed soul of the Touch em With Love LP, making these recordings a unique document of Bobbie as we have never heard her before. Also included are selections from Bobbie’s three BBC tv series including live versions of her well-known tracks Ode to Billie Joe and Mississippi Delta as well as songs Bobbie never recorded in the studio like The BeatlesMother Nature’s Son and Harry NilssonOpen your Window. All the audio has been mastered from the original tapes. These to include many rare and never before seen images of Bobbie, images from photo shoots, out takes, performing and touring. These releases feature an exclusive illustration provided by fashion illustrator David Downton.


1. Ode To Billie Joe
2. Chickasaw County Child
3. Hurry, Tuesday Child [Demo]
4. Sunday Best [Alternate Take]
5. Mississippi Delta [Alternate Version]
6. Okolona River Bottom Band
7. Refractions
8. Courtyard

1. Mornin' Glory
2. Sweete Peony [Alternate Version]
3. Casket Vignette
4. Recollection
5. Sittin’ Pretty
6. Hushabye Mountain
7. Conspiracy Of Homer Jones
8. Sunday Mornin' [Alternate Version]
9. Let It Be Me (Duet With Glen Campbell) [Without Strings]

1. God Bless The Child
2. This Girl’s In Love With You
3. Touch 'Em With Love [Stereo Version]
4. Seasons Come, Seasons Go [Demo]
5. Glory Hallelujah, How They'll Sing [Alternate Take]
6. Fancy
7. He Made A Woman Out Of Me
8. Rainmaker
9. Circle ‘Round The Sun

1. Apartment 21 [Stereo Version]
2. Benjamin
3. But I Can't Get Back
4. Lookin' In
5. Smoke
6. Joanne
7. The Girl From Cincinnati