BOB DYLAN - Springtime In New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (Highlights Ed. 1980-1985) - 2LP - Vinyl

€34.99 €27.99
Save 20%
Label: Sony/Columbia/Legacy SKU: 15185 Catalogue ID: 19439865791 Format: Vinyl
We have 6 copy(ies) left.
29 people are viewing this right now
BOB DYLAN - Springtime In New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (Highlights Ed. 1980-1985) - 2LP - Vinyl

BOB DYLAN - Springtime In New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (Highlights Ed. 1980-1985) - 2LP - Vinyl

€34.99 €27.99


LABEL: Sony/Columbia/Legacy

CAT NO: 19439865791

BARCODE: 194398657912



LP1 – Side A:
1. Jokerman – Infidels alternate take
2. Need A Woman – Rehearsal
3. Fur Slippers – Shot Of Love Outtake

LP1 – Side B:
1. Someone’s Got A Hold Of My Heart – Infidels Outtake
2. Don’t Fall Apart On Me Tonight (Version 1) – Infidels Alternate Take
3. Blind Willie McTell (Take 5) – Infidels Outtake

LP 2 – Side A:
1. Too Late (Band Version) – Infidels Outtake
2. Sweetheart Like You – Infidels Alternate Take
3. Seeing The Real You At Last – Empire Burlesque Outtake

LP2 – Side B:
1. New Danville Girl – Empire Burlesque Outtake
2. Dark Eyes – Empire Burlesque Outtake

All Songs Previously Unreleased


BOB DYLAN – Springtime In New York:
The Bootleg Series Vol. 16
(Highlight Edition: 1980-1985)

2LP – Black Vinyl

The latest chapter in Columbia/Legacy’s highly acclaimed Bob Dylan Bootleg Series revisits an often-forgotten, rich vein in Dylan’s vast and complex catalog, shining fresh light on the provocative new musical directions Dylan was taking as a songwriter and a recording artist from 1980 through 1985.  In the early 1980s, while the music industry was grappling with the arrival of new trends and technology, from MTV to compact discs to digital recording, Bob Dylan was writing and recording new songs for a new decade, creating an essential new chapter in his studio catalog.  Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York (1980-1985) celebrates the rich creative period surrounding Dylan’s albums Shot Of Love, Infidels, and Empire Burlesque with previously unreleased outtakes, alternate takes, rehearsal recordings, live performances and more.

The deluxe 5CD edition of the album presents 57 rare Bob Dylan recordings, 54 of them previously unreleased in any format, from 1980-1985.  The previously released cuts include two Shot Of Love outtakes: “Let It Be Me” (first released as B-side to “Heart of Mine” International 7″ single) and “Don’t Ever Take Yourself Away” (first released on Hawaii Five-O: Original Songs from the Television Series).

A third previously released recording, “Death Is Not The End” (an Infidels outtake featuring Full Force) first appeared in an edited version on Down In The Groove and may now be heard for the first time in full on Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York (1980-1985).

Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (1980-1985) is available in a deluxe 5CD boxset (with book, memorabilia, photos and more) as well as 2CD and 2LP 12″ vinyl highlight packages.

Third Man Records will release a 4LP version of Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (1980-1985) as part of their Vault Series.

Disc One of Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (1980-1985) was recorded in 1980 and 1981 and finds Dylan rehearsing a variety of his own catalog compositions (“Señor (Tales of Yankee Power),” “To Ramona“), rearranging some traditional folk tunes (“Jesus Met the Woman at the Well,” “Mary of the Wild Moor“) and revving up a selection of surprising covers (“Mystery Train” featuring Ringo Starr, “Sweet Caroline,” “Fever,” “Abraham, Martin and John“) with a group of musicians including Fred Tackett (guitar), David Mansfield (mandolin), Willie Smith (keyboards), Tim Drummond (bass), Jim Keltner (drums) and background vocals by Clydie King, Carolyn Dennis, Gwen Evans, and Regina McCrary.

Disc Two of Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York (1980-1985) is devoted to outtakes and alternate takes of recordings produced by Chuck Plotkin for Shot of Love, while Discs Three and Four are centered on the material Dylan wrote for Infidels, performed by the all-star band assembled for the album which featured Mark Knopfler (guitar), Mick Taylor (guitar), Alan Clark (keyboards), Robbie Shakespeare (bass) and Sly Dunbar (drums).  The Infidels sessions, produced by Bob Dylan and Mark Knopfler, include previously unreleased versions of “Blind Willie McTell” and “Jokerman.”

Disc Five of the album includes live tracks (“Enough Is Enough” from Slane Castle, Ireland, and “License to Kill” from Late Night with David Letterman, March 22, 1984) alongside alternate takes and outtakes from the Empire Burlesque sessions, produced by Bob Dylan, including premieres of new songs (“Straight A’s in Love” and “New Danville Girl,” an early draft of “Brownsville Girl“) and a previously unreleased performance of the canonical “Dark Eyes.”

According to the Producer’s Note in the album: “The alternate takes selected for this set are different than the ones released on previous volumes of The Bootleg Series. They are included here to illustrate the musical journey Bob Dylan undertook during these years.”

In his liner notes for Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York, Damien Love writes, “And that’s the real story of this gloriously untrammeled collection. The songs. The songs stripped free of trappings, tampering, passing tastes, and judgments. The songs broken down to the sound of people really doing this, right now, acting on instinct. The songs rough and rowdy, bruised and tender, joking and crying, nagging and striving and yearning.  The songs were always there, and here they are still, keeping pace with us.”

* This 2LP set is a “Highlights Edition” featuring selected tracks from the aforementioned 5CD Boxset tracklisting.

See below for tracklisting…