BILLIE HOLIDAY - Essential Works 1937-1958 - 2LP - Vinyl

Label: Diggers Factory SKU: 15776 Catalogue ID: MOJ122 Format: Vinyl
We have 6 copy(ies) left.
21 people are viewing this right now
BILLIE HOLIDAY - Essential Works 1937-1958 - 2LP - Vinyl

BILLIE HOLIDAY - Essential Works 1937-1958 - 2LP - Vinyl



LABEL: Diggers Factory/Masters Of Jazz


BARCODE: 3760300314951



1. All Of Me
2. When You’re Smiling
3. If Dreams Come
4. The Man I Love
5. Getting Some Fun Out Of Life
6. Time On My Hands
7. The Very Thought Of You

1. My Man
2. Jim
3. Solitude
4. Georgia On My Mind
5. Lover Man
6. Am I Blue ?
7. I’ll Be Seeing You

1. Now Or Never
2. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
3. Blue Moon
4. Remember
5. Sugar
6. Them There Eyes
7. Lover Come Back To Me

1. Love Me Or Leave Me
2. Willow Weep For Me
3. I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
4. Cheek To Cheek
5. All Or Nothing At All
6. I’m a Fool To Want You


BILLIE HOLIDAY – Essential Works 1937-1958

2LP – 140g Black Vinyl

Lady Day was born under the name of Eleanora Fagan. How much suffering does it take to express love, pain, despair, or even life itself? Few singers have communicated emotions like Billie Holiday. Her father, a jazz guitarist, wouldn’t recognise her and so refused to give his daughter his name. He was more interested in nightlife than in family life. Billie’s mother was a cleaner, cook and occasional prostitute who abandoned her daughter to the care of her aunts or a reformatory. Billie had a life of violence that commonly included rape and physical abuse of all kinds. In between prostitution, prison and a few gigs in sordid dives where a customer’s generosity was her only means of support, Billie managed to record for Columbia when she was only nineteen. It was the beginning of a recognition that never waned over the years. Few voices of the past eight decades were as capable of moving the hearts of those who loved female singers in the same way as Billie Holiday.

See below for tracklisting…