BETTYE LAVETTE - Blackbirds - LP - Vinyl


Barcode: 602508725845

Label: Verve SKU: 11077 Catalogue ID: 00602508725845 Format:
We have 2 copy(ies) left.
25 people are viewing this right now
BETTYE LAVETTE - Blackbirds - LP - Vinyl

BETTYE LAVETTE - Blackbirds - LP - Vinyl




LP – Black Vinyl

Five-time Grammy-nominee and Blues Hall of Fame inductee Bettye LaVette releases a new album, Blackbirds, produced by Steve Jordan, on Verve Records. It features songs primarily popularized by women who were the “bridge she came across on.” These women helped to set the stage for Bettye and her contemporaries.The album finds LaVette in top form with powerful renditions of songs that touched her personally. From Dinah Washington’s Drinking Again, Nina Simone’s I Hold No Grudge, Billie Holiday’s Strange Fruit, Nancy Wilson’s Save Your Love For Me and more, they are all delivered in LaVette’s rich and raspy tone and a touch of the blues. Blackbirds takes Bettye back to her roots, honoring her heritage as an R&B singer and the women who came before her. LaVette A&R’d and sequenced the record herself – her first true curation.


  1. Hold No Grudge
  2. One More Song
  3. Blues For the Weepers
  4. Book Of Lies
  5. Romance In The Dark
  6. Drinking Again
  7. Strange Fruit
  8. Save Your Love For Me
  9. Blackbird

LABEL: Verve

CAT NO: 00602508725845

BARCODE: 602508725845