BECK, BOGERT AND APPICE - Live 1973 & 1974 (Deluxe) - 4CD Box Set
BECK, BOGERT AND APPICE - Live 1973 & 1974 (Deluxe) - 4CD Box Set

BECK, BOGERT AND APPICE - Live 1973 & 1974 (Deluxe) - 4CD Box Set

Label: Rhino Catalogue ID: 0603497833252 Format: CD
We have 1 copy(ies) left.
23 people are viewing this right now
BECK, BOGERT AND APPICE - Live 1973 & 1974 (Deluxe) - 4CD Box Set

BECK, BOGERT AND APPICE - Live 1973 & 1974 (Deluxe) - 4CD Box Set



4CD - Limited Deluxe Edition Box Set. 

Upon seeing a September 1972 rehearsal, Melody Maker’s Chris Welch wrote, “Tim and Carmine are the most ferocious rhythm section extant, and quite frankly the combination that Jeff Beck could lead to be the first successor to Cream, both in terms of success and excitement.”

England’s other major music publication, New Musical Express, would concur upon seeing one of the new power trio’s first shows: “BBA are an ensemble of virtually unparalleled magnificence. The heaviest thing on six legs: Beck, Bogert & Appice.”

BBA was a short-lived super group made up of Jeff Beck (Guitar/Vocals), Tim Bogert (Bass/Vocals), and Carmen Appice (Drums/Vocals). Their brief, meteoric trajectory as a band included the 1973 release of their eponymous debut studio album, Beck, Bogert & Appice. On May 18th and 19th 1973, they recorded a live show at Koseinenkin Hall in Osaka, Japan, which was released as Live In Japan. The album was only released in Japan and has not been in print widely for some time. 

The rights to the Live In Japan audio reverted to the band several years ago. Jeff Beck’s team also discovered a previously unreleased live show recorded at the Rainbow Theatre in London on the 26th of January 1974. The original masters were located and cleaned up where necessary by all three band members, with full approval by Carmine Appice, Tim Bogert, who passed away in 2021 and Jeff Beck, who passed earlier this year. These two amazing live shows will now be properly released or the first time in five decades as BECK, BOGERT & APPICE Live 1973 & 1974.

Both shows include an eclectic mix of rock, blues, boogie and experimental cuts that reflect the musical prowess of the super group. “Superstition” appears in both concerts, with a heavy pocket groove, highlighted by Beck’s solo and Talk Box contributions. “Going Down” and “Morning Dew,” featured in the Japan set, went on to become ongoing staples in Beck’s live show. The skill and musicianship of Appice and Bogert are displayed throughout and Beck’s unmatched guitar process is in full effect."


"Live in Japan 1973 - Live at the Koseinenkin Hall, Osaka, Japan: 18th & 19th May, 1973
Disc One:
1. Superstition
2. Lose Myself With You
3. Jeff's Boogie
4. Going Down
5. Boogie
6. Morning Dew

Disc Two:
1. Sweet Sweet Surrender
2. Livin' Alone
3. I'm So Proud
4. Lady
5. Black Cat Moan
6. Why Should I Care
7. Plynth / Shotgun (Medley)

Live at The Rainbow 1974 - Live at The Rainbow Theatre, London: 26th January, 1974
Disc Three:
1. Satisfied
2. Livin' Alone
3. Laughin' Lady
4. Lady
5. Solid Lifter
6. Jizz Whizz

Disc Four:
1. Name The Missing Word (Prayin')
2. (Get Ready) Your Lovemaker's Coming Home
3. Superstition
4. Blues De Luxe/You Shook Me
5. (Rainbow) Boogie