BASIC RHYTHM - Electronic Labyrinth - LP - Vinyl

Label: Planet Mu SKU: 13887 Catalogue ID: ZIQ430 Format:
We have 2 copy(ies) left.
21 people are viewing this right now
BASIC RHYTHM - Electronic Labyrinth - LP - Vinyl

BASIC RHYTHM - Electronic Labyrinth - LP - Vinyl



LABEL: Planet Mu


BARCODE: 5055869565882



1. Craft
2. Hayward Road
3. Acid Track
4. Larkin Around
5. Electronic Labyrinth
6. Techno
7. Palace Of The Peacock
8. The Secret Ladder

BASIC RHYTHM – Electronic Labyrinth

LP – Black Vinyl

Anthoney Hart returns with his second Basic Rhythm album for Planet Mu. Electronic Labyrinth is a maturing of his sound that draws a line under his work as Basic Rhythm thus far. The title itself conveys the overarching theme of the album, evoking the journey through a musical labyrinth that Hart has undertaken over the last 30 years or so, following a path through to the centre where these disparate strands have coalesced and solidified into a coherent whole. The underlying themes are of a more personal nature, intimated by the cover photo of St Fabian Tower where Hart first joined the now infamous Rude FM in the late 90s, the sometimes misleading directness of the track titles, as well as explicit references to books such as Wilson Harris’ Palace of the Peacocks, the ontological promiscuity of Harris’ writing mirrored here in Hart’s own musical endeavours. What you end up with is an album that not only draws upon a wide range of influences from both the musical and literary worlds, intertwining them within a deeply personal context that imbues the music with a depth of meaning, but that is also somehow more coherent despite such a wide range of references and hidden meanings. It is at once both an album of subtexts open to interpretation, and a cohesive whole that fits together perfectly.