ART BLAKEY AND HIS JAZZ MESSENGERS - Chippin' In - 2LP - 180g Clear Vinyl

Label: Tidal Waves Music SKU: Catalogue ID: TWM70LITA Format: Vinyl
We have 3 copy(ies) left.
22 people are viewing this right now
ART BLAKEY AND HIS JAZZ MESSENGERS - Chippin' In - 2LP - 180g Clear Vinyl

ART BLAKEY AND HIS JAZZ MESSENGERS - Chippin' In - 2LP - 180g Clear Vinyl



LABEL: Tidal Waves Music
BARCODE: 735202315132



1. Brain Stormin’

2. Byrdflight

3. Hammerhead

4. Aquarius Rising

5. Kay Pea

6. Chippin’ In

7. Raincheck

8. Chandek’s Den

9. Kenji’s Walk

10. Love Walked In

– Chippin’ In

2LP – 180g Limited Edition Clear Vinyl

  • North American version on CLEAR vinyl (2XLP)
  • Limited DOUBLE 180g Vinyl Edition (500 copies) with obi strip
  • Rare Dutch studio recordings, one of Art’s last sessions before he passed away
  • First time on vinyl
  • Comes with insert/liner notes

Please note:

This is a presale order, release date AUG 20th

All orders will be shipped on or before AUG 20th

You can also collect in store on release day.

Released on the legendary Dutch jazz label Timeless Records and one of his final recordings…on the album we are presenting you today (Chippin’ In) you’ll find ten sublime tracks recorded at Rudy van Gelder’s Recording Studio in February 1990. Art Blakey passed away just 8 months after these tracks were cut and you can’t hear any signs of him slowing down at all. For these specific recordings, The Jazz Messengers were expanded from its usual quintet or sextet into a septet and they showcase their energetic signature sound with remarkable style, musical knowledge, a dash of good humor and camaraderie you’d expect from a world class band who have entertained, thrilled and amazed for almost five decades. The line-up on these fantastic sessions includes non-other than Essiet Okon, Geoff Keezer, Dale Barlow, Javon Jackson, Frank Lacy, Steve Davis and Brian Lynch…impressive to say the least!

Chippin’ In sounds as successful, young and vibrant as ever! Expect supercharged hard bop with striking notes, no-holds-barred musicianship, high swinging solos, screaming choruses and plenty of solid virtuosity to spare. This electrifying set of tracks contains both originals and several eclectic versions of standards…making this release a bonafide hit and a must have for any self-respecting jazz fan or collector.​

Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents the FIRST ever vinyl release (these recordings were never issued on vinyl before) of “Art Blakey and The Jazz Messengers ‘Chippin’In”. This unique album comes as a deluxe 180g DOUBLE vinyl edition (strictly limited to 500 copies) with obi strip. The jacket features exclusive session pics shot by legendary Dutch photographer Joost Leijen (known for his work with artists such as Chet Baker and Pharoah Sanders), also included is an insert with liner notes by renowned author and producer Russ Musto. Limited edition 500 copies.

See below for tracklisting…