ALEX G – DSU – LP – Limited Pink Vinyl


Barcode: 689492202910

Label: Lucky Number SKU: 11490 Catalogue ID: LUCKY71LPX Format:
We have 2 copy(ies) left.
28 people are viewing this right now
ALEX G – DSU – LP – Limited Pink Vinyl

ALEX G – DSU – LP – Limited Pink Vinyl




LP – Limited to 250 Copies on Pink Vinyl – Includes Download Code

2014 classic reissued on pink vinyl.

Lucky Number is thrilled to present DSU, the incredible new album from the Philadelphia-based songwriter Alex Giannascoli, more commonly known as Alex G. Though only 21 years of age, and still a student at Philadelphia’s Temple University, DSU is Alex G’s fifth album. All recorded at home, almost exclusively solo, and, until recently, all self-released and available only via Bandcamp; the volume of his work online – combined with its vitality – has helped build a fervent cult fan base. Wise beyond his years, Alex’s lyrics draw upon personal experiences whilst conveying something universal as if touching upon topics with a world-weary authority: the frustration that comes with dealing with reprobate friends, self-centred drug-use and the stinging loneliness of an unreciprocated affection all feature prominently. Like classic artists Neil Young and Alex Chilton, Alex’s songs are refreshingly robust and rapturous, with enough lo-fi grit to ground them in a sparse, impressionistic space.

Sonically, his palette fluctuates from the rolling rhythms of album opener After Ur Gone to the distorted atmospherics of Hollow; a shift that makes more sense when you realise Alex counts Silver Jews, Aphex Twin, Lucinda Williams and Boards of Canada amongst his diverse musical reference points. Everything is tied together by the ever present winding open spaces of his languid acoustic strums and the meandering melodies of that classic indie aesthetic. Lyrically each track on DSU – from the more intricate narrative of addictive highlight Harvey to the overtly questioning elements of album closer ‘Boy’ – reveals just enough to embolden the listener to explore beneath its surface – making what they will of Alex’s introspective musings. Offering a sense of cathartic comfort in its moodiest moments, ‘DSU’ is evidence of Alex G’s pliable sound – one which has whole crowds singing his own words back to him with voracious intent.


  1. After Ur Gone
  2. Serpent Is Lord
  3. Harvey
  4. Rejoyce
  5. Black Hair
  6. Skipper
  7. Axesteel
  8. Sorry
  9. Promise
  10. Icehead
  11. Hollow
  12. Tripper
  13. Boy
  14. Soaker (Bonus Track)
  15. Waiting For You (Bonus Track)

LABEL: Lucky Number


BARCODE: 689492202910