SLUM VILLAGE - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 (Repress) - 2LP - Vinyl
SLUM VILLAGE - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 (Repress) - 2LP - Vinyl

SLUM VILLAGE - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 (Repress) - 2LP - Vinyl

Label: Ne'astra Music Group SKU: 19376 Catalogue ID: NMG5762LP Format: Vinyl
We have 6 copy(ies) left.
27 people are viewing this right now
SLUM VILLAGE - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 (Repress) - 2LP - Vinyl

SLUM VILLAGE - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 (Repress) - 2LP - Vinyl



2LP - Black Vinyl

The contributions of the late Detroit producer James DeWitt Yancey -better known to the world as J Dilla- to the world of hip-hop can't be overstated, and nowhere is his legacy more apparent than his work as a member of Slum Village. A founding member of the trio, (Alongside rappers T3 and Baatin) Dilla provided the group's distinctly esoteric, free-wheeling sound, built around winding basslines, quirky drumbeats, subtle low-end frequencies, and classic jazz & soul samples. Against the backdrop of Dilla's rich production, T3 and Baatin's free-flowing style of rhyming would also earn wide critical praise, leading to comparisons as the successors to A Tribe Called Quest. (A label they themselves have rejected.)

It's on Slum Village's 1997 studio debut, Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1, that all these elements come together in the most proficient manner. An instant hit among Detroit's underground hip-hop scene, the album seemed to combine all the best elements of the reigning alternative and gangsta styles of hip-hop into one cohesive style that was a hit among critics.

Fan-Tas-Tic's influence extended far beyond Detroit, as its sound heavily influenced the sounds of D'Angelo, Erykah Badu, and The Roots just to name a few. (Roots drummer ?uestlove has even declared that: "Hands down this album birthed the neo-soul movement.") Ne'Astra Media Group now presents the album reissued on vinyl, for the first time in several years. Every wobbling bass note of J Dilla's production has been preserved and every freestyle line of T3 and Baatin has been re-created, to maintain the legacy of a late-90s rap classic, and the legend of one of hip-hop's greatest beatsmiths.


A1. Fantastic
A2. Keep It On (This Beat)
A3. I Don't Know
A4. How We Bullshit
A5. Fat Cat Song
A6. The Look of Love

B1. Estimate
B2. Hoc N' Pucky
B3. Beej N Dem
B4. Pregnant (T3)
B5. Forth & Back (Rock Music)
B6. Fantastic 2 (Interlude)
B7. Fantastic 3 (Interlude)

LP 2
C1. Keep It On (Remix)
C2. 5 Ela (Remix)
C3. Give This Nigga
C4. Players
C5. Look of Love (Remix)
C6. Hold Up

D1 Things U Do (Remix)
D2. Want Me to Get 'Em
D3. Fat Cat (Remix)
D4. Fantastic 4 (Interlude)
D5. What's Love Got to Do With It
D6. 2 You 4 You