BILL FAY - Still Some Light: Part 1 - 2LP - Vinyl

Label: Dead Oceans SKU: 16542 Catalogue ID: DOC224LP Format: Vinyl
We have 4 copy(ies) left.
22 people are viewing this right now
BILL FAY - Still Some Light: Part 1 - 2LP - Vinyl

BILL FAY - Still Some Light: Part 1 - 2LP - Vinyl



LABEL: Dead Oceans


BARCODE: 0656605152417



SIDE A: 14:00
1. Backwoods Maze
2. The Sun Is Bored
3. There’s A Price Upon My Head
4. Time Of The Last Persecution

SIDE B: 12:00
1.Plan D
2. Sing Us One Of Your Songs May
3. I Will Find My Own Way Back
4. Love Is The Tune

SIDE C: 13:00
1. Laughing Man
2. Arnold Is A Simple Man
3. Just To Be A Part
4. Inside The Keeper’s Pantry

SIDE D: 13:00
1. Pictures Of Adolph
2. Tell It Like It Is
3. Release Is In The Eye
4. Dust Filled Room
5. I Hear You Calling


BILL FAY – Still Some Light: Part 1

2LP – Black Vinyl

Bill Fay has always sung about attempting to understand the most universal questions: those of nature, spirituality, humanity. His songs are “calming hymns for another chaotic time”, he says. His influence can be traced through many artist’s work, and so it only seemed right to celebrate this with a collection of newer voices interpreting his timeless tracks. Originally released in 2010 by David Tibet (Current 93), Still Some Light was released as a double CD, made up of 70’s album demos (Disc One) and 2009 home recordings (Disc Two).

This year, for the first time, this collection of recordings will be pressed to vinyl and released digitally, presented alongside contemporary reimaginings of the tracks by Kevin Morby, Steve Gunn, Julia Jacklin and Mary Lattimore. Bill Fay’s words and melodies remain unaffected by the passing of time and changing trends; and here alongside the original recordings, these reinvented versions still calmly guide us through another moment of chaos.

Still Some Light Part 1, collecting Fay’s archival recordings from 1970 and 1971. Many of the songs are intimate sketches which were eventually re-recorded for Fay’s self-titled debut and for his landmark album, Time of the Last Persecution. This double LP set includes heart wrenching versions of some of his timeless works, such as “I Hear You Calling” and “Pictures of Adolf Again”, and features equally powerful songs like “Arnold is a Simple Man” and “Love is the Tune,” which only appear in this collection.

See below for tracklisting…